Ms. Gertrude NGABIRANO, Executive Secretary of EASTECO
                               Ms. Gertrude NGABIRANO, Executive Secretary of EASTECO


Dear Guest,

I am pleased to welcome you to the East African Science and Technology Website.

The East African Science and Technology Commission (EASTECO) is an Institution of the East African Community (EAC).

The Development Objective of EASTECO is to promote & coordinate the development, management and application of Science & Technology to support regional integration & socio-economic development.

Since our operationalization in July 2015, EASTECO is devoting more capacity to build an efficient and productive partnerships with EAC Partner States stakeholders including the Private Sector, Civil Society and Development Partners to achieve the objectives of the Commission related to Policy harmonisation, skills development, collaborative research and development, as well as technological innovation.

The EAC Partner States of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda have established National Science and Technology Commissions/Councils mandated to facilitate and coordinate the development and implementation of policies and strategies for integrating Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) into their respective national development processes. They aim to promote scientific and technological development and societal transformation through developing high level human resources, promoting and supporting specific research programmes, and facilitating the dissemination and uptake of scientific and technological knowledge products and services i.a.

EASTECO, being the regional coordinating body, will be instrumental in coordinating Science, technology and innovation in the EAC partner states. EASTECO, through a regional consultative process has developed a 5 year strategic plan to act as a guiding framework for the exploitation of STI to accelerate the development and competitiveness of the east African regional economies.

EASTECO constituted its Governing Board and held the first meeting in June 2017 which elected Mr. Badru Ntege from Uganda as inaugural Chair, and Professor Manasse Mbonye from Rwanda as the Rapporteur.

EASTECO is also organizing the “Second East African Community Regional E-Health & Telemedicine Workshop, Ministerial Conference and Trade Exhibition”, which will take place in Kigali, Rwanda, from 27th to 30th March 2018.

The event will provide an opportunity to share national, regional and global experience in e-Health and Telemedicine programmes and solutions, biomedical engineering and allow participants to get insight into policy and regulatory systems, infrastructure and technologies, efficient partnerships to improve healthcare delivery.

I am delighted to invite you to learn more about EASTECO and to partner with the Commission to drive innovation and technology development efforts in the EAC region.

Thank you.

= Unlocking East Africa’s development potential through science, technology and innovation =